So I know that I (The ‘Determined’ Housewife) have not blogged for a while. I’ve had some ups and downs in the last two weeks. From struggling with misbehaving kids, unsuccessful job hunting, financial difficulties, emotional days and just dealing with everyday stresses. I had even put on 3lbs back on, luckily I have dropped them again plus an extra half a pound. What is funny is that my husband who is eating the same foods as I am is also loosing weight, which dont get me wrong is super fantastic, however he keeps staying just a pound under me everytime! Very frustrating when all I want is to weigh less than my husband. Its kind of fun though and we sometimes end up play fighting about it which is good for our marriage and our souls.

One of the things I want to talk abut this week is the struggle of affording healthy food. I cannot believe how difficult it is to eat healthily! As I mentioned we have been going through some financial difficulties, so now buying the right foods is NOT easy by a long shot. No wonder there is so much obesity problems, its cheaper to buy a loaf of bread and a jar of Nutella than it is to buy a couple different bags of fruit! Its cheaper to buy a box of granola bars than it is to buy some salad items. Nuts are expensive and so is Avo. I am lucky to have two children who love their fruits and vegetables, so we are always trying to keep stock of it, however its cheaper to make a pasta than it is to make a skinless chicken breast and vegetables. How crazy is that! So the last two weeks there hasnt been too much ‘healthy’ eating in my household, I have still tried to keep portion control a big part of it and we have been eating a little earlier than usual which is also good (with no snacking after our last meal). It helps when we put up the guard rail upstairs, no one wants to climb over it to go get anything 😛

I went to the shop the other day to buy Milk, cucumbers, 2 tins of cat food, banana’s, 1 pack of bacon a small pack of mince and 3 jars of bodywash and it cost me $42! Talk about feeling like you should be putting something back! We needed it all though and I just prayed that it wouldnt decline my card, how embarrassing would that be!

I know my post is a little scattered this week but alot has been going on, I havent seen Rachel for exercising and havent been getting much done on the home front either. My car hasnt been warming up nearly as fast as it should be and I drove 32km for an interview yesterday and by the time I got there, I could not feel my fingers or toes. Hubby checked and I need anti-freeze (which we cannot currently afford), trying to find a job has not been an easy task (even applied at the grocery store in hopes of just having something, apparently I’m not good enough to work in a grocery store), I’ve been an emotional wreck due to all of this and my kids have been driving me insane too.

All in all, its been a terrible two weeks and I’m just feeling down in the dumps. 

Here’s to hoping things get better

Much Love: The ‘Determined’ Housewife

2 thoughts on “

  1. Chin up. I have found that often, even when we’re doing everything we can to make it rignt, and when we think we just can’t go on, that all is lost is the time when some pieces start to fit together. Love each other, cling to each other, encourage each other. HUGS to you all!
    Diana xo

  2. You are still in the game and the star player! Remember not to focus on the scale, what are the numbers on the inches around the waist, neck, arms, legs? I bet they have continued to drop. Men and women are different and remember we are only in the race against ourselves. Besides you are being the leader and he is following you so your are always ahead.

    When it comes to the food keep in mind what it costs to your health, that is not on the price tag. Also, look at the volume of food consumed. Plus, think of the impact it has on your children and how they are going to make better decisions when you are not around. There is no price on that. Easy is how you get to where you don’t want to be.

    It is all in the Lord’s capable hands and everything will fall into the right place on the job.

    Regards,
    Clifford Mitchem
    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

Leave a Reply

