A Change in Diet can mess with your system

This blog is about the real truth behind what we are doing to lose weight. Our ups and downs, the good and the bad, so here is another tidbit, albeit a little embarrassing to talk about.

Friday was definitely hard on us with the difficulty of measuring each other and not seeing any big change in our weight. I could definitely feel that the drastic change in my diet was messing with my regularity if you get what I mean. I was definitely messed up and not being as regular as I usually was. I also felt the tightening in my hands/fingers and ankles (water retention), I got myself a natural laxative and my doctor prescribed me some mild water tablets. So Friday afternoon I had taken my water tablets and had taken 2 laxatives before bed. Thanks to the water tablets for keeping me running to the loo like a pregnant lady for the rest of the day and night, lol.

I woke up this morning, did the deed, carried on with the usual routine which included climbing on the scale nude. (I was always told that the best time to weigh yourself was in the morning after you have gone to the toilet and to stand on the scale nude) so thats’ what I did. At first I looked and was about to sigh in frustration when I had to rub my eyes in disbelief! Holy Moly! I had lost 3lbs/1.3kg since Friday morning! So I was certainly more happy today than yesterday!

This is why I say, you need to get to know your body. I figured I was retaining water and that I was constipated because of diet change! This is not to say that living off water tablets and laxatives are the answer, not by a long shot! If however, you feel that you need one of these to help relieve you, there is no shame in that!

Here are my totals for you, my latest including this mornings weight loss.

Since 10 January 2014, I have lost a total of: 7lbs/3.17kg

Since April last year (at my heaviest) including the last two weeks, I have lost a total of: 13.5lbs/6.12kg

I am very proud! I am very motivated! 

I am The ‘Determined’ Housewife!

4 thoughts on “A Change in Diet can mess with your system

    • Thank you!

      The other housewife and I are certainly trying to find that exercise. We do Jillian Michael’s Extreme Shed and Shred at the moment when together, when not together I do the Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred. We are going to try some exercises by Rosemary Conley which I did before my wedding and helped me lose 10kg. We have an abs video that is a love/hate relationship and would like to start walking (being Canada and having kids with us, its not always nice weather to do it in, in winter unfortunately) and then I have an elliptical at home. I don’t hate exercising, I just don’t like high impact exercises as much as I like low impact (knee’s, calves and ankles).

      Thanx again 🙂

  1. Since I started eating clean (fresh natural food cutting out additives as much as possible) I’ve been more regular. I think my morning granola (homemade) helps too. Oddly, drinking plenty of water helps with the water retention. It took me a long time to find an exercise I loved but I did and it was walking. Doesn’t sound much of an exercise but you’d be surprised how many calories you can burn on a really long walk a d it’s easy to fit into the day. 🙂

    • Oh I agree, walking is so good! Rachel and I have been talking about getting some walking into our exercise schedule. I drink a lot of water everyday and have also started cutting out things that are bad for you. Thank you for your information and for reading our posts. 😉

Leave a Reply

