The ‘Determined’ Housewife

This is my story in a nutshell. I am a mother of two beautiful girls ages 6 and 2. After having my girls I put on a few extra kg’s/lbs, I averaged between 70kg/154lbs to 80kg/176lbs.

First picture of me a few days after starting our weight loss challenge

First picture of me a few days after starting our weight loss challenge

1 year and 5 months ago my husband and I finally kicked our smoking habit with the help of some boiled sweets everytime we got a craving. BAD BAD BAD idea! I started packing on the weight slowly, not even noticing it very much at first. Add to that the stresses of our immigration process and bam! You have a recipe for disaster! I tend to be a stress eater and hate it!

Once we arrived in Canada, we were trying new foods and drinks and I wasn’t get much exercise into my daily routine. The stress of being away from my family and friends was super hard and I fell into a bit of a depression the first couple of months. I weighed myself in December of 2012 and was shocked to see I had gone up to 104kg/230lbs!!! No wonder my clothes didnt fit me! No wonder I felt absolutely disgusting!

In June 2013 I found out I have Insulin Resistance and got meds to help with it. I was told I need to change my diet, cut out sugar as much as possible and change all white breads and pasta’s to brown. I did, I tried my hardest and I lost 4.9kg/11lbs, since then I’ve been up and down a little bit. While visiting my friend we decided to start this 30 Day Challenge. We started on the 10th January 2014 going through to the 10th February 2014.

This is our start. We are wanting to make a complete lifestyle change and to help inspire other moms.

We are not professionals in any regard. We want to show others, with a little bit of motivation, with a friend, with determination, YOU CAN DO IT!

We will share our experiences with you, recipes, exercise ideas and challenges with you.

Leave a Reply

